home | accessibility | search | font size
  NHS north west dental health

Dental Conditions

Background information

  • Between the ages of 6 months to 3 years children’s baby (deciduous) teeth erupt.
  • There are 20 baby teeth.
  • All of the baby teeth are replaced by permanent teeth between the ages of 6 – 13 years.
  • Wisdom teeth erupt between the ages of 17 – 21 years.
  • There are 32 permanent teeth.

Types of teeth and their functions

PremolarsTearing and Chewing

types of teeth


This is the outer layer of the tooth, the part of the tooth you see above the gum. Enamel is the hardest material in the body. Enamel protects the inside of the tooth.


This is the inner part of the tooth and is yellow in colour. Dentine is similar to bone and not as tough as Enamel.


This is the most inner part of the tooth, which contain the nerve endings and blood vessels that keep the tooth alive and healthy


This is the pink area around the teeth.

There's more information in this section of our website. Use the following links to find out about: